Call for Nominations for the 2011 Antonio Zampolli Prize

The Antonio Zampolli Prize is an award of the Alliance of Digital Humanities
Organisations (ADHO). Now in its inaugural year, the prize will be given
every three years to honour an outstanding scholarly achievement in
humanities computing. It is presented by the Alliance of Digital Humanities
Organizations (ADHO) on behalf of its constituent organizations: the
Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC), the Association
for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the Society for Digital
Humanities/Société pour l’étude des médias interactifs (SDH/SEMI).

The prize is named in honour of the late Professor Antonio Zampolli
(1937-2003), who was one of the founding members of the Association for
Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC) in 1973, and ALLC President
1983-2003. He was a major figure in the development of literary and
linguistic computing from the 1960s, and an enthusiastic supporter of the
joint international conferences of ALLC and the Association for Computers
and the Humanities (ACH), which were initiated in 1989. He was also a prime
mover in the Text Encoding Initiative, both in the initial 11-year project,
and in the establishment of the TEI Consortium.

The Zampolli Prize is given to recognise a single outstanding output in the
digital humanities by any scholar or scholars at any stage in their career.
The output must involve the innovative use of information and communications
technologies and may take the form of published research and/or the
development of research-related tools or resources. The award will be made
on the basis of the output’s importance as a contribution to the digital
humanities, taking into account the significance both of its use of
information and communication technologies and of its actual or potential
contribution to the advancement of humanities research.

The first Antonio Zampolli Prize will be given at the Digital Humanities
2011 conference, which will be held at Stanford University.

The Award Committee invites nominations for this award. Nominations may be
made by anyone with an interest in humanities computing and neither nominee
nor nominator need be a member of ACH, ALLC or SDH/SEMI.

Nominators should give an account of the nominee’s work and the reasons it
is felt to be an outstanding contribution to the field. A list of
bibliographic references to the nominee’s work is required.

Nominations should be sent no later than 15 February 2010, to the Chair of
the Antonio Zampolli Prize Committee:
Ray Siemens,
University of Victoria, PO Box 3070 STN CSC,
Victoria, BC, Canada. V8W 3W1.
Email submissions are preferred.

Members of the 2011 Antonio Zampolli Prize Committee:
Ray Siemens (Chair)
Jean Anderson, Chuck Bush, Matt Jockers, Øyvind Eide
Marilyn Deegan, Julia Flanders, Christian Vandendorpe
John Nerbonne, Harold Short, John Walsh



Leave a Reply